Connecticut pre-owned vehicle warranty protections

| Jan 15, 2021 | Auto Warranty

Consumers who buy a preowned car should not purchase someone else’s problems. They should know about Connecticut’s law that helps protect them from vehicle warranty problems.

Coverage

Under state law, warranties are required for a used car purchased from a dealer licensed in Connecticut, that costs at least $3,000, is no more than six years old and is used for personal, family or household reasons.

Warranties are in effect for 30 days after purchase or 1,500 miles, whichever occurs first, for vehicles with a purchase price between $3,000 and $5,000. Warranties last for 60 days after their purchase date or 3,000 miles, whichever occurs first, for vehicles with a total purchase price of at least $5,000.

The total purchase price covers all amounts charged for the vehicle, including its trade-in vehicle’s value. It excludes finance charges, registration fees or sales tax. The vehicle’s age is computed as of Jan. 1 of each calendar year.

Warranties require that the purchase must be mechanically operational and sound when it is bought and throughout the warranty period.  If the vehicle is not mechanically operational and sound during the warranty period, the dealership must restore the vehicle to that condition. Warranties cover all the parts and labor needed to restore it to this condition.

This law is limited to the features that are directly related to the vehicle’s mechanical operation. Warranties are not required for coverage of cosmetic features such as paint or upholstery or convenience items such as a cigarette lighter. Used car warranties are not required where a dealer can prove that a mechanical defect came from an accident after the consumer took possession of the vehicle or from its misuse.

Compliance

Even if the warranty period expired, dealers must honor these warranties if the consumer notified it of a breach of warranty within the required time. Dealers need to provide the consumer with a purchase order that shows that the complaint occurred during the warranty period. The warranty period is extended for the time that the vehicle is in the dealership’s possession for warranty repairs.

An attorney can gather information about warranty problems and provide legal options. Lawyers can help pursue warranty rights under state law.